Monday, May 23, 2011

Summer Sufferings.

I hate summers. Not because temperatures can shoot up to a 50 degrees in this tropical country of ours, more because I lose tons of water in the humidity that the near by sea coast creates! Please note I do not blame mother nature, I am actually blaming the defective, actually over-effective, body temperature control mechanism of mine.

I hate the number of clothes I've to change out of, hate that I can't go for a walk outside without getting completely wet in the first five minutes, hate that my hostel room gets the hottest rays of the day making my room a baking oven!

I like cold weather. They keep me dry and cool. I never, not once, have I cursed anything or anyone for horribly cold winters! Even if I have to wear 2 sweaters and a thick blanket to bed - no cribbing. Even if I can't wear my shorts without shivering - no cribbing. I get to let my hair down(which I can never do on a hot humid summer evening!), play sports for an hour or so before I am drenched, winter has its own fashion lines that are truly adorable!  As long as I am dry, I am happy!

Of course..winters have their dark side. Cant have proper baths because the water is freezing! The clothes don't dry fast enough. And worst of all are the mosquitoes! They make the lovely cool nights intolerable! Little of your skin peeks out of the blanket and ATTACK! Its torturous...

Summers, if you look at it from another aspect, has its perks. Multiple cold water baths - absolute heaven, the shorts and skirts one can wear- pure comfort, the fruits (my frnds got me to eat) - the taster's delight!

I am still debating whether all these pros are worth the con - Sweating Every Minute Of The Humid Day... Haven't reached a conclusion yet... But right now I am just waiting here for the rains to arrive and wash all the sweat away...phew!

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Who Do You Love More? Ma Or Pa?

This is one of the toughest and most controversial question a child has to face. I remember being asked this a billion times when I was little. I always answered 'both!' and all my relatives and parents always laughed and commented that I was being very diplomatic... But even as a child... I never really knew who I loved more.

Ma would wipe the tears, feed you amazing food, dress you up for school and other events[fancy dresses at school and farewells!], encourage you to stand on your own 2 feet after every fall. While Pa would also wipe your tears, make you occassional amazing food (new development), teach you how to handle machines [tricycle, bicycle, -forbade the scooty though-, car!- training left incomplete dad!!], teach you languages he knew and ma didnt, teach you pathetically difficult math problems and patiently continue teaching despite making the world's most hilarious silly mistake! And Pa would of course read you a story and tuck you into bed.

Somehow over the years, as I grew up dad got busy with his work ["I'm working for you little ones", he'd say to my lil' sis and me when we'd accuse him of working too much] and I spent more time with Ma. There was no such distance between me and Pa... Just less time together. Maybe I never acknowlegded it because of my own hectic life [ yes my readers! my life was pretty hectic post-tenth!! ] but I did miss his presence at home... The kanada lessons in the inverter lit lights, the lazy badminton coaching at the indoor, the bed time panchatantra and tua-tui stories (of course all grown up now.. Dont need them to fall asleep)... But all this remained in my sub-conscious mind...

Then I moved to hostel and I missed home dearly! I would call 5 times a day - I'm serious- and since Ma wasn't working then, I'd speak with her. Pa would come home late at night and we would speak once in a few days... I realized we rarely spoke, was sad too, yelled and accused about it as well but life has its funny stubborn ways...

Over the last year -ever since the family moved to Egypt- I've consciously openly missed Ma and our talks a lot (though I must say, the reduced calls saved a lot of money and strangely bought about a change in me-whole different topic-). Missed Ma's food...ma's soothing hand over my head... Never was I was aware that I wasn't missing Pa. There was once when I thought that our relationship had become purely financial and I felt really bad about that.

The other day Pa passed a comment about how I seem to be missing Ma alone and not both Ma and Pa... Then it struck me... I felt bad for being un-diplomatic and partial... Then I felt bad for feeling the need to be diplomatic and lying about something!

Today my father left the country again (This is the second time I left him at the airport and gone unmentioned to anyone is that I was emo like his momma when he left the first time) and I felt empty and alone... And i realized how much I'd miss his 'Its a beautiful day!' wake up calls (both in person and through the telephone) The Most!! Not the fancy things he allows me to buy or the awesome baked potatoes he makes on saturdays or the horrible teasing he does(definitely not missing that pa! :P) but just his 'good mornings'...

I do miss you dad... Just as much as I miss ma's lovely food and ma of course! Don't be jealous :P

[How's that for being diplomatic? ;D]