So for about 4 years now, I have ritually gone about suffering the summer, having the same trivial conversations about the weather and sweating my skin out. Now one would be curious why would someone- who hates the season so much- willingly remain in a hostel with no lavish amenities. Well unfortunately every year I spend the summer waiting for the exams to begin. And every year I regret staying back because the tests never begin before July (and if they do, they are manually pushed forward in time). The classes all shut down a month or two before and all I have are my books for company. I suppose the geeks would think of this as if living in paradise- no distractions, just you and your big fat books, but not me! If I even spend a day without getting out the campus walls, I get claustrophobic and have minor anxiety attacks.
Last year was a riot. We had 2 years worth portion to cover -read and revise- within a months time and of course the summer and the humidity! Last year was torture! 7 papers in a months time followed by practicals! This year around it seems quieter. 1 Year worth subject to cover, summer is over, have couple of more weeks to kill before the investigation into our knowledge begins again. (What scares me is next year - 4 years worth subjects! )
This year I made sure I didn't go crazy like last! Made a couple of random but regular trips to wards, no not only to avoid contact with my books right away but also to learn [No one, I mean no one should ever spend all day and night with their books, they metamorphose into stuff you never really want to see again and well in this field we can't really get rid of them, can we? Everything in moderation!! ] Spent evenings playing badminton or going on long strolls - both involving loss of a lot of water and electrolyte but this way.. I remained sane.
There was one day that it got so hot in my room, that I gave in! I gave in and went to study in the reading room that our hostel has. Few months back, I would like to thank them, the students put up a strike and got the management to finally put the AC's the slots in the windows were made for! It was a life saver! Spent the last weeks of the scorching summer there. One night, to escape the humidity of the room, I remained there till 2 in the morning ( it could also be the fault of the strong coffee I had had that evening ). But now that the rains have cooled my room off - I actually spent the entire day today without having to shut my windows!- I haven't visited winter wonderland since. Don't be disheartened oh room! Once it gets horridly humid again, make sure to save me a seat ;)
I think it was just our first year and a year in between that we truly enjoyed the rains. Rains always remind me of the first day of school - in shiny new uniform, sparkling shoes, the tie and belt tied neatly to the pinafore and how all of it is completely muddy by the last bell! Just because we are older -legally adults- doesn't mean we are all neat and tidy! We still make a wonderful trip through the rains and get all our clothes, shoes and hair wet and muddy! The joy of strolling around in the college building, watching the rain through the windows of our classroom, the burning desire to run out of the boring micro lecture about organisms we never see, is something I day-dream about sitting here in solitude surrounded by my monstrous books. We never get rainy day holidays any more (we live 100m away from coll, what do you expect!), but its alright! Its a whole different experience by itself. I actually wonder if we will have any more rainy days classes at all... only one more year to go, and we are done with classes. Life will change drastically soon -yet again-.
So, right now, I wait, re-living last years wait, with the cool monsoon breeze in my room and a pile of books to tackle growling at me from my desk, I wait for the politics and confusion to end, I wait for the monotonous exam days to pass so that I can wear my lab coat again and strut down the halls of my college, study new subjects and dread the same summer routine that is bound to happen next year!

No comments:
Post a Comment